Musing on Class–April Fool’s Edition

I found the discussion around effective and not very effective webinars in class very helpful.  Prior to last week, I had not used a webinar.  The one that I watched had potential, but was really uninteresting to watch.  In addition, there was a lot to think about before we try our own one.  How do you have a high level of interaction and engagement without having being distracting or take away from the topic?  Also, is there a threshold for how many of these tools that participants want in a webinar?  I am approaching this webinar as a way for me to learn the answers to the questions.  I am not trying to create the perfect session on the first try because if there is one thing that I am taking away from all the readings and course as a whole it is that we are constantly learning and tweaking what works.  And that is what will lead to successful teaching experiences.

I was glad that we were able to go over Elluminate/Blackboard Collaborate together as a class.  I seems like it may be easy, but then surprise you with the complex additions.  If getting a trial account was any indication, it can be a tricky process.  I am surprised that Elluminate does not support animated slides.  I am not sure if this is standard for all webinar platforms, but it seems that this type of function could be very useful in creating a more interactive webinar. 

My biggest concern is the time delay.  The only foreseeable way that I can prepare for this is to practice beforehand so that we have some idea of how long this will take (on average).  Practice, Practice, Practice.

About mainvils

I am a first year UMSI graduate student specializing in LIS and Preservation of Information.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Musing on Class–April Fool’s Edition

  1. I was thinking about uninteresting webinars. A few of the examples that I saw were pretty dull, and I was wondering if teaching a “dull” subject would be more effective in person. When you are not actually there it is so much easier to tune out the speaker. However, this also brings up the question of whether it is the subject that is boring or the webinar instructor’s fault for not making an engaging webinar.

  2. Tim K 643 says:

    My experience of webinars here at UM and in my previous job has been that if I’m listening to one by myself, even if it’s a topic of high interest to me, I find it nearly impossible to stop my mind from wandering. But when I’ve listened to webinars *as a group* with my co-workers, such that we can interact with one another in person as the webinar is in progress, it has been much easier to stay focused. I think that the act of listening to a disembodied voice that has been processed through a laptop mic and output through a computer speaker is maybe something best tackled with allies, and pastries.

Leave a Reply

