Musing on Class 2/25

The most memorable tidbit from class was Kristin saying, “Your job is to facilitate other people’s experience.”  She was speaking about our role in mediating a book club in the library, but this could be applied to so many aspects of librarianship.  Our future work is largely based on facilitation which can be lost in the nitty gritty work that day to day life brings.  On top of which I love the use of the word ‘experience.’  Workshops, book clubs, seminars are all experiential, so they can be interpreted in a variety of ways.  Success at facilitating these experience can come down to being open to what is happening right in front of you at that very moment.  Reading the cues and being present.  These are skills that I want to cultivate in all aspects of my life, it is a bonus that they will also help me in my job!

In an earlier post, I described how I was excited about the idea of doing a Socratic Seminar.  After the discussion in class, I realized how challenging these types of discussion can really be to implement.  They are energy and time intensive on top of which this format does not appeal to many people.  I was caught up in the excitement of the prospects and the outcomes, that I failed to take that into consideration.  However, this isn’t going to be a deterient, merely a consideration before I jump into it.

Some really good pointers came out of the book club “Do’s and Don’ts” discussion.  I was particularly interested in the exercise on how to ask questions and when to ask certain questions.  I think that I would have a difficult time not wanting to join in on the discussion.  Which brings me full circle to the “facilitating people’s experiences” mantra.

About mainvils

I am a first year UMSI graduate student specializing in LIS and Preservation of Information.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Musing on Class 2/25

  1. Tim K 643 says:

    I think the idea of “facilitating other people’s experience” will be a memorable takeaway from the course — it’s been a thread going through several of the assignments, and could also be applied to many of the topics we discussed in SI647, and is also something useful for me to keep in mind when I’m doing cataloging work and deciding what kinds of information will be meaningful to include in a record.

Leave a Reply

